Welcome to the new Quilt in a Day community pages. Please use your old username and password to log in. If you forgot your password, you can reset it from the log in page. If you have questions about how the new board works, try the FAQ link above.

Sewing Machine to use with Grace Quilting Frame

Tips, Suggestions, and General Discussions about quilting by machine.
TexasSewGal

Sewing Machine to use with Grace Quilting Frame

Post by TexasSewGal » Thu Oct 25, 2007 4:27 pm

I am going to be honest with you ladies. I have been reading your comments on this website for months. Enjoy it very much and have learned a great deal just by reading. This is my first time to ask for help and I know that you ladies can help me.

I have only been quilting for about four years now - and love it. I recently purchased a used Grace quilting frame. Have already quilted a small blanket and I am just getting use to working with it. My question is what is the best type of sewing machine to use with the frame? My funds are limited and have purchased on Ebay a older model Singer Sewing Machine with an industrial strength motor. The machine sews like a dream until I put it on the frame. The bobbin gets tangled constantly and it breaks threads and needles left and right. It is very flustrating. Wondering if any of you have had similiar type problem with the sewing machine you use on the frame and have found a solution. The frame is a dream. I would appreciate all of your suggestions.

TooMuchFabric

Re: Sewing Machine to use with Grace Quilting Frame

Post by TooMuchFabric » Thu Oct 25, 2007 5:44 pm

I have the Baby Lock Professional Quilter. It has the 9 inch arm. I really like it and it does great. I have the stitch regulator and that is a really nice addition. I had trouble with thread breaking (I was using Coats & Clark) until I bought thread from the sewing machine store. Now it works great.

quilterbee

Post by quilterbee » Fri Oct 26, 2007 2:37 am

I'm using a Juki TL98Q. Amie