Welcome to the new Quilt in a Day community pages. Please use your old username and password to log in. If you forgot your password, you can reset it from the log in page. If you have questions about how the new board works, try the FAQ link above.

Stitch in the ditch

Tips, Suggestions, and General Discussions about quilting by machine.
deensy10

Stitch in the ditch

Post by deensy10 » Thu Jan 30, 2014 1:48 pm

I'm pretty new to quilting. When I stitch in the ditch sometimes it's perfect sometimes and sometimes it's to one side. I'm following the seam line very carefully. What am I doing wrong?

Thank you

12stepquilter

Re: Stitch in the ditch

Post by 12stepquilter » Fri Feb 07, 2014 10:01 am

You are doing nothing wrong. I have been quilting for over 30 years and still jump the seam so just keep at it. A wise quilt shop owner once told me there is no such thing as a perfect quit. She was so right.
Rhonda

sillyCat5

Post by sillyCat5 » Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:17 pm

Like the previous post, I have been quilting for....."awhile" and still not sure what stich in the ditch means..if I am to sew in the seam, above or below? as to the straight line, lets just say, some days you sew straight, some days you don't! sounds like you are doing just fine.

purrfect-lady

Post by purrfect-lady » Mon Feb 24, 2014 2:04 am

Stitching in the ditch isn't as easy as it sounds! But I got a foot for my Bernina that makes it much easier. Looks so much better! I'm still jumping the seam once in a while, but now the foot does the work for me. I think it's called an Edge Foot.

cindyg

Post by cindyg » Fri Feb 28, 2014 11:08 am

Even the professionals don't stay exactly in the ditch 100% of the time. I have a "stitch in the ditch" foot with my Janome and it helps a great deal. I only get out of the ditch 1% of the time.....and I've got some swamp land in Arizona to sell you - LOL.

toekeyotow

Post by toekeyotow » Mon Mar 03, 2014 2:32 am