Welcome to the new Quilt in a Day community pages. Please use your old username and password to log in. If you forgot your password, you can reset it from the log in page. If you have questions about how the new board works, try the FAQ link above.

Anyone use a Flynn quilt frame?

Tips, Suggestions, and General Discussions about quilting by machine.
kalispunk

Anyone use a Flynn quilt frame?

Post by kalispunk » Sat Apr 04, 2009 5:52 am

Have you ever used a Flynn quilt frame to machine quilt your things? I am a beginner and only do small things - placemats, small wallhangings and doll quilts, maybe a 35 x 45 small quilt. I have no interest in ever doing a bed size quilt, so I don't want to spend a lot of money. Is the Flynn system reasonable to start with? (I use a Janome 4900QC sewing machine)
Thanks for input!

quilterbee

Re: Anyone use a Flynn quilt frame?

Post by quilterbee » Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:02 pm

One word. NO. John Flynn is so talented, but his frame doesn't have the best rep..at all. Some of the quilting related online Yahoo groups where we sell our things, the Flynn frames are usually free or cheaper. Of course, you could just try one for free and see. JMO, Amie

happymrs

Post by happymrs » Sun Apr 05, 2009 4:20 am

Check your PMs, I sent you one!

Nancy...

kalispunk

Post by kalispunk » Sun Apr 05, 2009 8:18 am

Thanks for the info, Nancy

kalispunk

Post by kalispunk » Sun Apr 05, 2009 8:19 am

Thanks, Amie for your input. What do you mean,"the Flynn frames are usually free or cheaper"?

quilterbee

Post by quilterbee » Wed Apr 15, 2009 8:30 am

Free and cheaper is a saying meaning just that,lol! If it's free it may be good deal, if it's cheaper than free it is probably a piece of junk. Amie :o)

Nadine2007

Post by Nadine2007 » Sat May 16, 2009 5:52 pm

I bought the John Flynn Frame never used it then sold it for 1/2 price. Didn't really care for it much.

sometimeQuilter

Post by sometimeQuilter » Wed Jun 17, 2009 9:19 am