Welcome to the new Quilt in a Day community pages. Please use your old username and password to log in. If you forgot your password, you can reset it from the log in page. If you have questions about how the new board works, try the FAQ link above.

Want to know what terminolgy means

Fabric Swaps, Round Robins and Block of the Month Discussions.
javin22

Want to know what terminolgy means

Post by javin22 » Sun Aug 26, 2007 3:14 pm

I am new to this, and was wondering what round robins, jelly rolls, swaps, ect, are. Please explain these to me, so I will know if I want to participate in any of them. thanks so much.
Update:)
Thank you all for your help. I will be going through my stash and start a swap. Thank you all again. Vinae

CindyB

Re: Want to know what terminolgy means

Post by CindyB » Sun Aug 26, 2007 3:54 pm

ok - I'll give it a whirl.

A round robin is when a group of quilters get together. Each one makes a medallion, say 18x18 inches. When they are done with this, they pass it off to the next person. That person puts an appropriate border on the center, and passes it on.... etc.

Jelly Rolls are 2-1/2" strips of fabric the width of the fabric (44-45"), usually 40 of them. They are usually rolled up (like a fire hose), and tied.

Swaps are when you make a certain number of blocks, and send them in to the 'host' of the swap. When all participants send in their blocks, they are switched around and sent back to everyone - so you can get 20 blocks of the same (or different) pattern, made by 20 of your fabulous quilting friends! Usually, when you send your blocks off, you include a postage-paid envelope so the host doesn't have to have the expense of mailing back!

How does that sound? I think I covered it....

Leetec

Post by Leetec » Sun Aug 26, 2007 4:29 pm

Good job, Cindy! One more thing, swaps can also include FQ's and charm squares, too.

javin22

Post by javin22 » Sun Aug 26, 2007 5:01 pm