Welcome to the new Quilt in a Day community pages. Please use your old username and password to log in. If you forgot your password, you can reset it from the log in page. If you have questions about how the new board works, try the FAQ link above.

antique fabric

Patterns, Fabric, Suggestions, and more. What to do with everything you've got. Everything's Quilting and Fabric related!
scraperpea@al

antique fabric

Post by scraperpea@al » Tue May 29, 2007 8:00 am

I'm new to quilting and a friend of mine gave me a sack full of very old Dresden Plates. They were hand stitched and of course dusty. I would like to make a quilt using them but I know they need washing and so forth. Also since they are hand stitched, do you think I could use the Quilt in a Day method of using fusible interfacing? Please help, these are lovely old fabrics. Thanks very much,

zfatcat

Re: antique fabric

Post by zfatcat » Tue May 29, 2007 4:50 pm

Do you know how old the fabric is? I would just be very care with it. Maybe you could hand wash and let the air dry. I don't think I would use fusible. It might hold up well.
Lori 8-)

Tiggersmom

Post by Tiggersmom » Tue May 29, 2007 4:57 pm

scraperpea I just finished a dresden plate that my greatgrandmother started. One of the fabrics is over 100 years old. Mine were hand stitched too and I didn't wash them but mine sound like they were kept dust free compared to yours. I washing is a must be sure to use a quilt soap from the quilt store! and DO NOT agitate! just soak gently rinse several times. I hand applicayed mine down on musling fabric and then put them together with 30's prints in prarie points after being machine quilted {I am a longarm quilter] It turned out Great! I don't know about using the sticky stuff to put them down with you might 'test' one or a part of one on a block and see what you think, or if you have a scrap of the fabric use that instead of one of the actual blocks. Enjoy your new found treasures!!!!!!!!!

lhostelley