Welcome to the new Quilt in a Day community pages. Please use your old username and password to log in. If you forgot your password, you can reset it from the log in page. If you have questions about how the new board works, try the FAQ link above.

A thank you and a quilt nightmare

Patterns, Fabric, Suggestions, and more. What to do with everything you've got. Everything's Quilting and Fabric related!
Ginirn

A thank you and a quilt nightmare

Post by Ginirn » Tue Jun 26, 2018 7:04 am

Just want to thank Eleanor and her crew for the clear concise directions for her patterns and products. I just completed a quilt that was my worst ever quilting experience. I am not a novice and have been quilting for about 15 years and sewing since age 13. Taught myself to sew mostly from a Singer sewing book so I am a visual learner . I have made some intricate quilts and can follow a pattern. Over a year ago I was in Paducah and bought a pattern and fabric to make a wedding quilt for my oldest Grandson. I make more elaborate quilts for this occasion. This particular pattern had foundation piecing and some appliqué. I have done tons of foundation piecing and some appliqué so I was not intimidated. Started on the quilt right away by reading the directions. I could not figure them out even after pouring over them for several weeks . There were a lot of problems. First the designer recommended using a freezer paper technique for the foundation piecing which would add not just hours but days of extra work. Scrapped that idea right away. The directions referred to steps not shown anywhere. There were only a couple pictures throughout. When needing to see detail she referred to the pattern front which was a picture about 4 inches square for a queen quilt. Finally in desperation I emailed to the address on the pattern. I received a phone call from the designer who immediately attacked me demanding to know how I got her phone number. I explained I just sent an email. She did answer one qu