Welcome to the new Quilt in a Day community pages. Please use your old username and password to log in. If you forgot your password, you can reset it from the log in page. If you have questions about how the new board works, try the FAQ link above.

Fabric shades, grades....

Patterns, Fabric, Suggestions, and more. What to do with everything you've got. Everything's Quilting and Fabric related!
KatsQuilt

Fabric shades, grades....

Post by KatsQuilt » Sun Mar 02, 2014 3:11 am

Been quilting for 4 years, self taught. My quilts are "OK". But I have trouble selecting fabrics for color, shade, print size, etc. The color wheel is confusing to me. Any suggestions for reading, viewing on this topic?
Kathy

rosebud3

Re: Fabric shades, grades....

Post by rosebud3 » Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:10 am

Kathy welcome to QIAD. If the color wheel confuses you, don't worry about using it. My opinion is put colors together the way you like them, not just by the color wheel. Sometimes I like the pattern in a more monotone color way and sometimes they are very "wild". In other words, go with what is pleasing to "your" eyes. Have fun and enjoy the process.

Mary/Rosebud

MainelyMe

Post by MainelyMe » Sun Mar 02, 2014 3:04 pm

I have found that sometimes starting with a focus fabric and pulling the other fabric colors from that works, Using lighter or darker shades of those colored make it work together. But most of all, go with what you like. I've always found the people in quilt stores willing to help too.
Joan

auntjana

Post by auntjana » Mon Mar 03, 2014 9:37 am

Welcome!

If you find a piece of fabric that you love, look down the side of the selvege and you will see some color dots. They are the colors in that piece of fabric -great clues for other fabric colors to bring in. Vary the scale of prints, some large, others small. You will be surprised at what you can do.
Jana

KatsQuilt

Post by KatsQuilt » Mon Mar 03, 2014 1:52 pm